Chia Obama

I have owned exactly one Chia Pet in my life. My aunt gave it to me, and I think it’s fantastic. It’s a Chia Puppy, and -of course- when you spread the grass seeds on it, it grows hair. I have recently seen an ad for a new Chia Pet. A rather presidential Chia Pet. That’s right, it’s a Chia Pet formed in the shape of Barack Obama’s head.

Spread the seeds and he grows hair. Spread the seeds and he grows an afro. How obvious.

Get your piece of American history. I am unsure if it’s actually OK for people to be selling these or not. The sentiment is right, and if you actually watch the commercial, it’s all about American pride and joy, and love for their country.

Hope, change, and building the economy by buying little pieces of pottery, sold exclusively sold through Walmart or through the TV stations selling the product. The entire Walmart argument aside (that’s an entire other story), I can’t help but think how blatantly racist it is at the same time, ‘look kids! The black president has an afro!’

I’m undecided on this Chia Pet. I have a Barack Obama T-shirt that I actually bought in Chicago, so I won’t be buying this piece of memorabilia anyway.

One Response to “Chia Obama”

  1. Taina Quella Says:

    Aw, i thought this was an exceptionally quality post. Theoretically I’d prefer to write such as this too – spending time and real effort to have a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and never apparently go done.


Leave a Reply

