My Printer’s Name is Karla

The Konica Minolta I’ve got is actually quite a lovely little printer, and chugs away like a dream. Four point font is as crisp and clean as your eyes will allow, but the ink on the page is definitely clear as day. Every now and again though, the thing decides that it’s got a paper jam in the back of itself, and despite all efforts to clear it nothing, except nothing will fix it. Too many bright lights into the paper try, and streaming out the top of the unit, and contortionist-like moves looking for that damn shred of paper…  and I finally  have to leave the printer alone powered off by itself for two days, and each time,  every time, on power-up… *blink* no error message. Everything is fine. Little green power light: ready to print. No paper jam.

I’ve spent the last 24 hours semi upset wondering why all my appliances seemingly decided to hate me all at the same time. The washing machine has been on the fritz for months, so that’s nothing new, but just this past few days, I put a cup of water into the microwave, and when the minute was up my cup of water was still stone cold. The microwave no longer is working at all. It wouldn’t have been such a great surprise if the toaster’s element hadn’t burned out a few weeks ago. Early Friday afternoon when the printer decided to have an off day and blink orange lights of paper-jam death at me, I was beginning to wonder if my house is in the middle of some sort of EMF that’s causing my appliances to die. Then again, a 14-year-old toaster and a hand-me-down microwave are both doomed to failure at some point.

Leave a Reply

