Static on the Radio

I heard this song for the first time in a bar in Port Credit in 2005. It’s a lovely song by Jim White. I have always had a hard time picking out individual words in songs, and have always been surprised when people are able to sing along with songs after they’ve heard them a couple, several, or even a bunch of times. Even though I have listened to this song probably ninety times (and often on repeat in the car) I can’t figure out the majority of the lyrics.

I’m not so quick as to jump to assume that it’s a problem with my brain or something, but I’m more inclined to listen to the lovely trumpet part somewhere in the middle, and then be happy that at the end the male singer says “What’d you say?” to someone. It’s as though he’s speaking it for me: ‘what’d you say? I can’t figure out what half of the words are either, which is why I was letting you sing most of the bits‘.

Static on the Radio, indeed. There is a whole generation of people, who, with the advent of digital radio, will never know the lovely sound of static between the radio stations of the dial. It’s a real shame, because it’s such a nice sound, and despite the perceived inconvenience of having to actually tune in to a station, I’m not sure that the one-click option of digital radio really is that much faster.

One Response to “Static on the Radio”

  1. Casey Says:

    i love this song!


Leave a Reply

