New Tires!

I finally went out and got new tires for my bicycle, as I’ve been meaning to do for nearly three months now. It’s great! I went for a giant bike ride, but only discovered on the way home, that I live on top of a giant hill, and that I’d apparently been coasting downhill for nearly half and hour before I decided to turn around and head back to my house.

My new tires are wider than my old ones, but the roads in Toronto really are nonsense. Even with the designated bicycle lanes, the streets are so ripped up that it makes staying in the bike lane nearly impossible most of the time, and I was constantly darting around bits and pieces of junk and pot holes. I’ll have to practice more. At one point, I wanted to make a left hand turn at an intersection that was under construction, and was a complete mess — my first instinct was to just pretend that I was a pedestrian and go on the sidewalk around all of the construction mess. Instead, there was another bicyclist who appeared to know what she was doing making the same left-hand turn across the intersection, and so I just followed her as if we were cars, and I sort of pretended like I knew what I was doing there in the middle of the intersection, meanwhile I probably looked like a bewildered squirrel. After we made our turn safely, she just smoked me at about 70 km/h down the street, and I sort of kept moseying along wondering how I didn’t die in the streetcar tracks while turning.

The ride back home didn’t kill me, but in retrospect, it’s not actually that big of an accomplishment passing a little old man who was pushing his rusty 3-speed up the hill when I’m a young kid on a street bike… At the time all I could think was ‘he’s pushing his bike! I’m in better shape than somebody!’

I need more practise. Toronto streets are crazy.

Leave a Reply

