Odd

The woman living across the street from me crosses herself and mutters a hail mary under her breath every time she sees me. She doesn’t do this with the other neighbours. She waves hello and will have a whole conversation, but always starts with this odd religious thing, as if I don’t notice. It’s been going on for about three months now. I was outside picking the weeds out of my garden today, and she came outside to get her mail –  and there it was – the weird up down arm thing and then “hello, lovely day!” So weird.

Leave a Reply

