What a Fun Day!

First thing yesterday morning, I realised all the pipes in my house were frozen. No tap would turn on and the toilet wouldn’t flush. Three hours with the thermostat cranked and a hair dryer to the water main did nothing, so I called a plumber, and was thanful for two things: 1) I have a job so I can (begrudgingly) pay a plumber and, 2) said job doesn’t fire me if I show up an hour late because I had to stay home to hang out in the basement for a little while.

A little lighter in the pocketbook, I got to work later in the day where there was quite a lot of work to do. Nothing abnormal though, and it was business-as-usual.

10:02pm, the power went out. Apparently the whole city block was out of power. It is now seven hours later, and though I’m home, there is still no power in that neighbourhood. I’m glad we have a generator, and though, there are apparently even more problems going on, I’ve always found power outages to be a source of fun.

I do not think this power outage, in the winter, will be anything at all like fun for anyone who isn’t so fortunate as to have a home to go into, or for anyone who has electric heat.

Leave a Reply

