It makes me angry.

I cannot believe the number of typographical errors I come across. People these days don’t care about spelling, and they don’t care if what they’re writing is understandable. Earlier today I refused to broadcast a 60-second news hit because it was missing an apostrophe. That, in itself, is not worth writing about, but anyone who went to grade four should really know basic grammar.

I used to think that people who didn’t know the difference between they’re, their, and there were idiots. Part of the reason I left university was the fact that I couldn’t justify the cost of the tuition when most of my (first year) classes were spent compiling grocery lists in my head while listening to a T.A. explain basic punctuation. I’ve come to realize that MOST people don’t have a firm grasp of English, and that many people don’t even know how to string a sentence together properly.

Even walking through Bloor West Village, I cringe at several (permanent) signs above the local, high-end businesses. There’s “Her’s Lingerie” and “Remedy’s RX Pharmacy”, just to name the 2 I can think of without much effort.

30 years ago, this kind of shit didn’t exist. No one had email, and no one had an instantaneous way of sending the entire office a nonsensical memo. I’m going to start posting EVERY stupid error I see, starting with Renée Zellweger:

4 Responses to “It makes me angry.”

  1. mike Says:

    Amen sister.

  2. sharon Says:

    Everyone knows it should be “George Clooney’s Rocks!”

  3. BEN Says:

    …….

  4. Patricia Sund Says:

    Oh thank God somebody wrote about this! I’ve always wanted to because it irritates me to no end. I’ve seen professionally produced signs with that stupid apostrophe where it does not belong. Thanks for posting this! I feel better now…


Leave a Reply

