New Kid on the Block

In the spirit of re-posting from old journals and blogs, here’s another long-lost post:

Yesterday, shortly after 8am, I’m sitting at my desk, bleary-eyed and waiting to go home, 10 hours into my 12 hour shift. I’m pretending not to be checking my email for the hundredth time.

Off in the corner of my office, I have a security monitor, and under my desk is located the all-powerful door opening button. During off-hours, I have the power to decide who gets in and who stays locked out. This power only works when unauthorized people aren’t so sneaky as to catch the door while it’s closing behind someone else.

The door buzzer goes off. It’s our secretary, early as usual. I let him in without much thought, and then realize that he’s been followed by some guy I’ve never seen before. Lazily, I assume he’s the secretary’s friend. That way, at least I don’t have to go find out who the stranger is that I’ve just granted access to the building.

Three minutes later, Terry (the secretary), comes around the corner of my desk with the stranger. He introduces him, just like he always does with new employees.

“Laura, this is Nate, our new intern. It’s his first day.”

At this point, I’m almost fully aware of what’s going on. I’m aware enough to fake a smile, extend a handshake and welcome this student to our company.

“Oh, Hi Nate. I’m Laura. Good to have you around.” We shake hands, and then I turn back to my computers, satisfied that the meeting went well, the stranger I opened the door for is allowed to be here, and that I am now safe to go back to waiting to leave.

Behind me, I hear Terry leave my office.

My new friend Nate, I can only assume, is still standing there. I put both palms flat on my desk, and slowly push my office chair around 180 degrees, hoping that maybe in the six seconds it takes me turn around fully, that the new kid will have disappeared.

He’s still standing there. Jacket on. Both backback straps in use.

“Are you MY intern?”

“Yup! I’m supposed to be here at 9, so I guess I’m a little early.”

At this point, I’m baffled. I didn’t know we hired interns in the first place, let alone that I was going to have one following me around like a lost puppy. My boss isn’t due in for another 2 hours, and most of the office will show up late for the next two weeks, since they’re still confused from Christmas when they were on vacation.

“What? Am I supposed to train you?”

“I guess so… What should I do with my stuff?”

“Nevermind that… here’s five bucks, go get us coffees”

Leave a Reply

